Just another WordPress.com weblog

Dance With My Father

This song is about Love, Family and Lost.  Reminded me how my mother have loved my father so much .Unfortunately, my mother left us for good, passed  away about three and a half years ago now. I miss you so much Mom.( Dance with my Mother again )…The song is sang beautifully by a young singer and original song by Luther Vandross.


Back when I was a child, before life removed all the innocence
My father would lift me high and dance with my mother and me and then
Spin me around ‘til I fell asleep
Then up the stairs he would carry me
And I knew for sure I was loved
If I could get another chance, another walk, another dance with him
I’d play a song that would never, ever end
How I’d love, love, love
To dance with my father again
When I and my mother would disagree
To get my way, I would run from her to him
He’d make me laugh just to comfort me
Then finally make me do just what my mama said
Later that night when I was asleep
He left a dollar under my sheet
Never dreamed that he   would be gone from me
If I could steal one final glance, one final step, one final dance with him
I’d play a song that would never, ever end
Cause I’d love, love, love
To dance with my father again
Sometimes I’d listen outside her door
And I’d hear how my mother cried for him
I pray for her even more than me
I pray for her even more than me
I know I’m praying for much too much
But could you send back the only man she loved
I know you don’t do it usually
But dear Lord she’s dying
To dance with my father again
Every night I fall asleep and this is all I ever dream

Category ..  music

Tags.. Luther  Vandross,  Dance With My Father


14 responses

  1. Hi my dear Connie,
    have a beautiful sunday:))
    Thank you very much for your visit
    and comments..hugs, Jussara

    March 20, 2011 at 11:02 am

    • Have a good and sweet day my dear sweet sister .hugs,and smiles~connie

      March 20, 2011 at 5:56 pm

  2. A very beautiful post deat Conny , full of childhood nostalgia and memories ingrained in childhood parental love , I enjoyed this post and the video clip as well , thank you Princess.
    Ian

    March 19, 2011 at 9:56 am

    • My sweet memories, specially for my Mom…I miss her so much.
      Thanks for your beautiful thoughts ~hugs~ connie

      March 20, 2011 at 5:55 pm

  3. Hi my lovely Connie, thank you very much for
    your beautiful presence on my wordpress and
    true friendship. Have a nice weekend:))My best wishes to you. hugs..take care, Jussara

    March 18, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    • Heartfelt thanks Jussara and my best wishes too.
      love always~connie

      March 20, 2011 at 5:53 pm

  4. Hello dear Connie,what a wonderful song and words!
    You have a happy week….Love,hugs and many smiles:))Kimi

    March 14, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    • Thanks Kimi…a dream will ever remain.
      hugs and kisses~connie

      March 20, 2011 at 5:50 pm

  5. My dear Connie, what tenderness and love in this tribute to your beloved mother.
    Thank you for your sweet comments on my new blog. You’re always in my heart my precious friend, hugs~Jussara

    March 14, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    • How wonderful to see you now at word press.Welcome and thanks so much Jussara..This reminds me of my late mom, missing her so much.. xo~connie

      March 14, 2011 at 9:36 pm

  6. andro51

    Welcome Back To WordPress Ranny, You’ve Been Missed You Know? Have A Lovely Start To The Week And Have A Nice Relaxing Time, Whenever You Get The Opportunity I Mean… Be Good Now Ranny…

    Androgoth XXx

    March 14, 2011 at 9:34 am

    • I suppose a week’s rest is not enough but I’m back. Thanks xo~connie

      March 14, 2011 at 10:40 am

  7. These are very touching lyrics, Connie,
    & they really strike home to me.

    I lost my father to cancer when he was around 60 years of age. Our lives have not been the greatest but he was the best dad over anyone else’s that I knew.

    As for dance partners, I really only had 1 all my life, who really could twist ‘n’ turn me around to perfection, and I’m missing him like something really awful right now, while trying to get him to come & dance with me again, because frankly, after all these many many years between him & I, I have never really danced like there’s no tomorrow since.

    March 14, 2011 at 2:39 am

    • It will always remain a dream, a wish for me to reach out for her, give her a cuddle, a hug ,a kiss and a dance with her again. A very wonderful Mom who always protectEed us,even from my father, when he was angry, if we’ve done smething he didn’t agree. My Mother ..our anchor. I miss her so much.

      March 14, 2011 at 11:15 am

Leave a Reply

